Skip to content

Nu-Skin’s Age Loc technology

October 29, 2009

Direct marketing company Nu-Skin launched their new age-loc technology in 2008 and have been rolling out the age-loc range and galvanic spa system globally ever since. With nearly 4000 facebook fans and sales agents spanning the four corners of the globe this brand had to be worth a look. So what does this range have that is so special? I went along to a launch earlier this year to find out and have since been digging around in the deepest darkest biology books to put it all into perspective.

BEFORE?

elderly lady

The Age loc range’s unique selling point is the way that it markets its approach to “anti-ageing”. As our skin ages our cells become less energetic, start making a few mistakes here and there and generally slow down. That, you would think is quite acceptable being, as though they have put in 24/7 hard labour for god knows how many years. Only for some, it isn’t great. Our genetics, pollution, diet, overall health and stress levels all take their toll leaving many of us reaching for the instant lift face cream long before our 60th birthday.

So, can we turn back the clock?

Nu-Skin have patented the name “ar NOX” and use this to describe an enzyme that occurs in the skin and is present in increasing concentrations as the skin ages. Apparently the higher your level of Arnox the older you will look. The “discovery” of arNOX has been hailed as a breakthrough for anti-ageing products as once this can be controlled, the ageing process can be halted from within.

Intrinsic ageing (ageing due to natural causes) has been widely studied and it was back in 1965 that a major breakthrough was made in understanding how cells are renewed. This study carried out by Dr Leonard Hayflick identified an enzyme called telomerase and showed how this enzyme was responsible for ensuring that cells replicate accurately – it acts like the tip of a shoelace, stopping the cell DNA from becoming unraveled. This work went on to inspire the group of scientists, which included Dr Elizabeth Blackburn, winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in physiology and medicine. Recent work by Dr Blackburn et al showed that as we age and when under stress the activity of the telomerase enzyme slows down and becomes less effective at cleaning up.

As cells age they start to release free radicals as part of their apoptosis (or programmed cell death). This is a natural process but it makes sense that as our skin cells age, the cleaners eyesight gets a little bad and fluff is missed! Hence, as we age we have more free radicals spinning around. In young people, this may cause many problems as free radicals can start all manner of weird and wonderful reactions but in older people, all of our cells slow down so for the most part, the free radicals just burn out without causing too much fuss.

So, biology lessons aside, what about Nu-Skin and its “ar NOX” technology? Well, the active used in the Age Loc brand works on the principal that it mops up these free radicals BEFORE ageing occurs rather than trying to prop-up an already aged skin. A case of prevention is better than cure maybe. The arNOX antidote is a plant based extract that is shrouded in secrecy and protected by patents (patents list several possible sources of this wonder cure: broccoli, Shitake, lotus, carrot, olive…) so it is a little hard to know what exactly is in there. However, the product is backed up by numerous clinical trials and well; the sales surely speak for themselves. This stuff must do something right!

Overall I would say that the Nu Skin Age Loc technology is probably not as new and unique as it is making out via its excellently crafted (and broad spectrum) marketing approach but let’s not split hairs. The people seem to like it!

Teamed with the hand held galvanic spa machine you can have hi-tech anti-ageing delivered right where your skin needs it, in the comfort of your own home.

AFTER?

young lady good skin

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 10:44 am

    Great article Amanda and thanks for explaining our ageLOC concept in simple terms! If any of your subscribers/readers would like more information on ageLOC and the Galvanic Spa they can view my website at http://www.lod.nsedreams.com

  2. November 1, 2009 5:31 pm

    Thanks Amanda. The best factor in this whole story is that it workes! In january we will release products that reverse gene setting in the skin, resulting in visible difference and later we will have it in supplements – addressing our body from inside! We need to be many more people marketing this, so if you are business oriented and willing to work hard for some years before you can stop working and live on the residual income: this is your chance! Contact me and I’ll give you more information. lillier@mynuskin.com

  3. RealizeBeautyEd permalink
    November 1, 2009 6:50 pm

    I am busy enough as it is but I am sure that some of our readers would love to take up that opportunity.

  4. Frieda Herholdt permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:07 am

    Please forward more information

    Regards

    Frieda

    • November 2, 2009 9:24 am

      Hi Freda,
      My name is Linda Willliams. I would love to forward any information you would like about this amazing product. Please give me your email address and phone number. Where do you live? I would like to talk with you.
      Regards,
      Linda Williams
      781-696-7762
      stopagingnow@comcast.net

  5. November 2, 2009 6:20 am

    I have worked in the beauty industry for 15 years now and year after year I have watched this company turns out products that are way ahead of the market. This time they are years ahead and unlike most companies they won’t stop here. I would also invite any of your readers who might want to take the opportunity to have an exciting, growing, lucritive business that can give them the opportunity to have a life they never dreams of to contact me. Thank you.

  6. November 2, 2009 7:02 am

    I have been using the ageLoc Transformation products and just love them. My face has never looked better. I have been using the Galvanic Spa over a year now and got amazing results.
    Any one interested in using the products please contact me through my website. If you want to join my team call me at 781-696-7762.

  7. November 2, 2009 9:05 am

    As a massage therapist, I didn’t know much about skin care. When NuSkin was introduced to me, I blew it off thinking it was just another Direct Marketing company with lots of false claims. As I did my research, I was proven wrong. Not only do they have the BEST products especially the launch of their new Serum but the give back program has touched my heart. I now concentrate more doing the business to reach the goal of going to Africa in 2011 to be part of the “Nourish the Children” program.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hGBI8bFOt5w check out the video that explains this program.

    I’m dedicated to changing lives and if your readers want to join the journey, have them contact me.

    Thanks for the great article.

    http://www.rpmtherapy.nsedreams.com

  8. RealizeBeautyEd permalink
    November 2, 2009 11:40 am

    It would be great to get some opinions from people who aren’t selling the brand. That keeps it nice and unbias!
    Oh, and the before and after photo’s were chosen to be a bit tongue in cheek – you can see real photos at the Nuskin website.
    Thanks to everyone so far for their stories and feedback.

    • November 2, 2009 11:44 am

      Although I do sell Nuskin, I have had great results. It would be great if I can post my picture to this website so you and others can see. This is why I started to do the business!

  9. November 2, 2009 11:45 am

    Yes, they do have before and afters on the website. http://www.nuskinusa.com

  10. November 2, 2009 3:29 pm

    Great Article

    i am loated in Boston and can help you get started in the best businessopportunity to come around in a century.

    Write me for more information on NuSkin and AGELOC

  11. November 6, 2009 11:42 pm

    Thanks for the clear yet simple illustration of the technology. Just looking forward if there are more news on the works with Lifegen on the health side. Have been in Nu Skin for 15 years but never see the amazing result like the ageLOC transformation set does- just 1 week it makes glowing and firming even on my already pretty good skin, yet I intentionally stop all masks and even galvanic spa! And particularly it diminish my pore size that none of the product can ever compare! I am looking forward to have that in Hong Kong and South East Asia. We have just another product line after the Galvanic Spa which can guarantee significant improvement. Thanks Nu Skin.

    http://www.choose.mynuskin.com

  12. November 14, 2009 7:18 am

    I started using the Galvanic Spa this time last year as a customer. I’m 33 years old and have struggled with rosacea my entire life. I no longer have red patchy, painful break outs. My skin feels so fresh and invigorated after using the Galvanic Spa with the AgeLOC gels. At first I started out using it three times a week to clear up my skin issues, now I use it two times per week along with the 180 Anti-Aging face wash system. I loved the products and had such great results, I became a Distributor In February of 2009! I love the Company, and I LOVE sharing my story! If you have any questions please feel free to visit my website or e mail me.

    Thanks!

    Angela
    http://www.nuskingels.ageLOC.com
    nuskin.angela@gmail.com
    813-369-1994

Trackbacks

  1. Nu-Skin's Age Loc technology « Realize Beauty- Anti-Aging Planet
  2. Review: Cellular Laboratories Re-Birth Serum « Realize Beauty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,055 other followers

