Skip to content

Committed? The Beauty of Marriage

January 28, 2010
What an apt title for a book that tries to intellectually navigate the “thing”, “institution” or “union” that is marriage. Last year my husband and I celebrated (and yes, I do mean celebrated) ten years of wedded bliss among much out pouring of public congratulation and pats on the back. However,  it only took one comment of “You would have got less for murder” to bring us back down to earth. Yes, there are many things that marriage is, “sanity personified” is not one of them. Therefore, from that angle one could say that you should definitely be ‘committed’ in every sense of the word before attempting it.

 

Elizabeth Gilbert. Committed

 

Yes, marriage is funny (and not always in a jovial sense) and even I have  been heard murmuring  “Gee, that guy is living with a wife-sentence”  or “talk about under the thumb” when a friend’s plans and enthusiasm was dashed at the last-minute by an over controlling (or just plain busy) spouse. Being married does involve some sacrifices, but doesn’t everything? 

I am a whole-hearted supporter of the idea of marriage for the very reason that Elizabeth finally got won over.  To be fair on her and her brilliant book, I had never really thought that much about marriage and its box-like structure before reading this because I never expected my marriage to be like that. I have always been an uncontrollable force of rebellion and no piece of paper would change that. However, I have always been happy to compromise, to take my turn, to share the lime light  and to not “pig out” just because the I was sitting in front of the whole buffet.   So it was with humour, compassion and wonderment that I turned each page of this, the follow up to the best seller “Eat, Pray, Love”. 

A good marriage is as beautiful as it is indescribable.  It doesn’t have a set of ‘just add water’ instructions, doesn’t always look a certain way and certainly doesn’t always feel the same.  Its quite a slippery, shape-shifting kind of thing that challenges you in every sense of the word and this book does a good job of uncovering its many guises and incarnations. 

Have a read and let me know what you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 12:57 am

    That book is now on my ‘to buy’ list – thank you. Comments like the ‘life sentence’ annoy me from time to time too. I don’t think enough people take marriage seriously these days – hence the growing divorce rates. It’s something to be cherished and nurtured.

  2. Linda Wood permalink
    February 15, 2010 8:59 am

    I’m just about to celebrate my 21st anniversary (I married young). The best years of our marriage so far are now. I definitely believe in marriage! But I’ve seen enough now not to be idealistic. Some relationships are destructive and better off ended.

Leave a Reply

