Skip to content

Tough Weather needs Tough Hand Cream!

January 5, 2011

I should never have been a chemist, it really was just asking for trouble having someone like me involved in a profession where you have to wash your hands every five minutes.  The problem with me is that I have eczema and after having suffered on various parts of my body throughout my life it decided to settle on my hands leaving me with skin that rips and tears when it is treated to one too many baths in a day.

Just have a look at this:

Eczema and cracked hands

Very cold or very hot weather just adds insult to injury and before you know it the cracks start to appear.  Not nice at all!

As many eczema sufferers will know when things get REALLY bad there isn’t much that can help except for maybe some steroid cream and anti-histamines (if you are itching) or gloves and aqueous cream (if they are just dry).  However neither of those options are particularly good cosmetically. Steroid cream can make problems worse when used for too long and aqueous cream and gloves is hardly becoming for a lady about town.   So, every now and then we need the help from something strong, tough but ultimately very caring and that’s why I love Norwegian Formula hand cream (oh I sound like an ad – no I don’t work for the Neutrogena brand, I honestly like the stuff)!

This hard-working hand cream has long been a favourite of mine as it is non-greasy yet durable, light yet protective, feels luxurious yet is very cost-effective. It ticks all but the ‘natural’ box for me, a sufferer of seriously annoying skin.  

So why does it work?

Norwegian formula hand cream for hard-working hands

Well, the trick to a good hand cream for sore hands is to make it highly substantive so that it sticks and stays on for a long time while keeping it light and wearable (or ‘breathable’).  These guys do that by using a mix of silicones plus the silicone friendly emollient Isononyl Isononanoate to create a lightweight yet moisturising base.  The product also has a film former included (PVP/ Hexadecene copolymer) which helps to ensure that the product stays on the skin, protecting it even while you go about your daily business.  Other than that we have the richly emollient behenyl alcohol to help stabilise the emulsion and add some lubricity and a dose of panthenol to condition the skin.

Otherwise there are a couple of odd-looking ingredients  (which I had to look up too) including xylityglucoside, a natural sugar with the ability to trap and hold water against the skin, anhydroxylitol – ditto (can also increase ceramide production in the skin) and xylitol – we get the picture. All of this ensures that your skin remains moisturised and protected for a sustained period.

I find this cream a real help, especially now that I find myself in the midst of a UK winter but many won’t want to try this as it does contain petroleum derived ingredients, paraben preservatives and perfume (which I could actually do without).  However, for the rest of you this may just save your skin and that’s a nice feeling.

Can’t wait to get my silky soft hands back again……

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Harold Lennard permalink
    October 31, 2012 7:28 pm

    Anthistamines are really necessary if you have perenial rhinitis and urticaria. :

    My web blog
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/bronchitis-symptoms/

Trackbacks

  1. 奇士美護手霜有點臭
  2. Latest hand cream news – ProductWhores: New Fave Drugstore Hand Cream

Leave a Reply

