Skip to content

Plug me in and turn me on

March 2, 2011

Is it me or has this become a metaphor for modern life? Do we aspire to be controlled, to be left limp, lifeless and doll-like when our masters have finished with us? Have we forgotten how to think?

I like the tune but could write an essay on how wrong both the video and the lyrics are – women sticking their bits in the air, wearing skimpy outfits, surrendering not only control but personality ‘do whatever you like’ or something….. But the worse bit for me has to be the naughty school girl imagery, oh dear….

Anyway, I wanted to share it with you because every time I hear it I can’t help but be reminded of the fact that I am not going to take the passenger seat when it comes to my life and further, I think that we do have to go far……. far, far away from our trailer trash lifestyles.

Meet me in the library in 10, it’s time to take control.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cathie permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:06 pm

    A lot of todays women and older girls seem a little messed up with what “freedom” and woman power means. It use to be the power suit and red lipstick, now it seems to be wearing a super short dress, fake tan, and drinking heavily. Somehow men dont seem to have a problem with this image of the new “strong” woman…I have a problem with that. Its PLAYBOY power, its not sexy.

    • RealizeBeautyEd permalink
      March 2, 2011 8:17 pm

      Very true and scary when you actually think about the implications of it all. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Maxine permalink
    July 15, 2011 12:36 pm

    I assumed this song was about BDSM. I love a good kink-positive song. 🙂

Leave a Reply

