Skip to content

New from Pantene – Nature Infusion Root Lift Mist

February 13, 2012

I arrived home late, tired and pretty frazzled on Thursday to a neatly packaged little gift from the Pantene PR co:

Pantene Root Lift Mist Nature Infusion

This soon-to-be-launched hair exciter (well, it can’t be a tamer as it makes it all stick up so exciter it is)  claims an ‘all day lift even on weakened roots’ which sounded kind of nice, I guess…..

Looking at the back of the pack I see that the product has a re-strengthening complex inside which would account for it’s claim to be good for damaged hair – this complex has something to do with Cassia Flower essence and Avocado oil and A Lot to do with Vitamin B5 (a Pantene classic that comes with reams of hair-friendly scientific data proving it works but I’m guessing that it just isn’t enough to sell a product on that any more – was it ever…)

The thing that got my attention about this product was the use of the term ‘natural fusion’.  I don’t think of natural when the word pantene is mentioned – it’s not a bad thing for me as I don’t mind a bit of chemical hair therapy but I did wonder where the brand was going with this.

Looking at the ingredients I see a whole list of un-natural ingredients such as butylene glycol, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polysorbate 20, PEG-60, PEG 100, PEG-8 Beeswax and VP/ Methacrylamide/Vinyl Imidazole Copolymer  again, it is not that these ingredients are bad but they are not natural.

Looking at the pack I see a smattering of green (green is natural) and a slither of a plant-like image gracing the label and conclude that this product is quite interested in you knowing that it is a little bit natural but it isn’t going to shove it down your throat!

So then I tried it…….

My conclusion is that this light mist will give you hair a natural-looking ‘root lift’ and if you use it enough the vitamin B may well strengthen your mane a little. However, the product is not chemically ‘natural’ and so if that bothers you, opt for something a little more plant like or just treat yourself to a little light head banging to induce a lift that’s purely natural and chemical free. Oh and as it is quite fragranced I probably wouldn’t use it on my damaged roots as it would probably make my head itch.

Amanda

One Comment leave one →
  1. 1skinsolution permalink
    February 15, 2012 8:05 am

    Love to hear reviews from actual Scientists!! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

