Skip to content

Pure Therapy by Purist – Daily Moisturiser

April 2, 2012

This newish range from the Purist Company caught my eye the other week due to its claims, packaging and overall positioning. Purist have gone for a look and feel that is pure pharmaceutical but kept both its cosmetic level claims and ‘pure’ philosophy so what’s it all about?

The Purist Pure Therapy Moisturiser

The front-of-pack-text:

Name: Pure Therapy by purist.

Everything about this name builds up the notion that this product range is going to be very kind, soothing and ‘helpful’ to your skin – your clean conscienced skin therapist.   Sounds like exactly what you would expect from a pharmaceutical company brand but (dare I say it) without the ‘nasty’ chemicals.  Let’s hope it lives up to that.

Tag Line: Specialty care for skin conditions.

OK so a little broad, probably so it doesn’t cross into the therapeutic arena but it still sounds like it will ‘help’ me with my troubled skin.  I am left with no doubt that this skin care line is ‘special’ in as much as it can help me care for my needy skin. It just leaves me wondering what kind of needs it might fulfil – I’ll read on.

Claim Header: Intense Nourishing

Oh, I didn’t think that we could say ‘nourishing’ in cosmetics. I thought that implied something more pharmaceutical than we are allowed – must re-check that.  Anyway, now I know that this product will absolutely drench my parched skin in moisture and drip-feed it back to health.  Cool.

Second Claim Header: Body Moist 1) Daily.

Not keen on this line, sounds like it might start growing fungi but I do get what they are after here.  A vision of soft, dewy, peachy smooth skin that us eczema sufferers can only dream of.

The Claims:

  • Intense 24 hour moisture.  OK so to say this these guys must have generated some data.  Typically you would design a protocol to measure the level of skin hydration after using the product over a 24 hour period. Some products get used once in that time then the moisture levels are plotted over time against a base level, others can be re-applied. It all depends on how you are advising your customers to use the product.  I am not sure what tests Purist have done but assume there must be some.
  • Unique formula + oats.   That is pretty easy as just adding a different extract would lead to a ‘unique’ formula.  Looking at the ingredients list for this I see that the product is based on a cationic emulsion (a favourite of mine as they do tend to stick better to the skin leaving it softer and more protected than a non-ionic emulsion).  Beyond that we have an impressive selection of ceramides and skin friendly extracts and actives all designed to ‘condition’ the skin. This is an oil in water emulsion which is what keeps it feeling light and makes it feel light and non-clogging so overall I’d say yes, it is a nice, neat formula.
  • Non-Irritating.  I am not sure how they came to that conclusion as it does contain a preservative that many people are reacting to – Potassium Sorbate.  The bulk of the formula does seem to be pretty skin-friendly and non-irritating but that could get ultra-sensitive people into trouble. Having said that potassium sorbate is usually less reactive on the skin in an emulsion so they may get away with it.  I would like to say that there is some formulation specific data to back this claim up but I don’t think there has to be. It is possible that this statement has been based on the choice of ingredients and the fact that the product is fragrance free but I could be wrong. I might just ask them!
  • Dermatologist Tested.  This means exactly what it says, that a dermatologist has ‘tested’ it.  Just how, why or what they tested it for is anyones guess but being the Purist company I’d have thought that they would get it tested for its suitability to use on sensitive skin.  These statements are very vague and not really useful without the backing data.
  • Sulphate and paraben free.  Well, that’s kind of what I’d expect from Purist anyway so it’s no biggie.

The verdict – Product. 

I like the moisturiser. It feels good on the skin, is non-sticky and hasn’t irritated me. I may even replace my ‘simple’ moisturiser with this as being an Australian made and owned brand VS Simple which is made overseas it makes better environmental sense and especially as it costs about the same – $14.95 for a 200ml bottle!

The only reservation that I’d have for myself – a long-term eczema sufferer is that the product does contain lots of ingredients and when your skin is so sore that it stings with water, lots of ingredients is something that you want to avoid, just in case.  So, personally I’ll probably use this when my skin is having a pretty good day only and in tragic times it will be back to the aqueous cream.  Even ‘simple’ is only good when my skin is being reasonably normal.

The Verdict – Branding.

A cosmetic brand that wants you to think its a pharmaceutical. Plenty do it, not many succeed but I have a feeling that Purist have nailed it but don’t be fooled, this is a cosmetic product and so if you do have chronically bad skin treat this in the same way as you would any other cosmetic and try before you slather it on everywhere and if you do that, I’m sure you will be pleasantly surprised.

I like.

Ingredients:

Water, glycerine, Sorbitol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Oat Kernel Flour, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol, Rosehip Extract, Shea Butter, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Oats, Jojoba Seed Oil, Avocado Oil, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Sunflower Seed Oil, Lecithn, Vitamin E, Sodium Lauroyl Lactate, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Gluconate, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    April 4, 2012 6:48 pm

    Is it possible to publish the ingredients of the product on your blog so we can follow along? I notice that Purist doesn’t put the list of ingredients on their site.

    • RealizeBeautyEd permalink
      April 4, 2012 9:20 pm

      Absolutely! I usually do but was in a rush that day. I’ll upload them once the kids are in bed 🙂

  2. jacqui permalink
    May 18, 2012 10:32 pm

    I’ve been diagnosed with an underactive thyroid and have ALL the symptoms and my skin is practically peeling off, it’s that dry. The assistant at my local chemist recommended this and it works wonders!

Leave a Reply

