Skip to content

Chlorophyll Toothpaste – What’s that all about?

April 21, 2013

The best thing about travelling on business is seeking out different cosmetic products to blog about so when I found this while in Paris this week (oh la la)  I just had to share:

toothpaste

That, young ladies and gentlemen is Chlorophyll toothpaste.  Yes chlorophyll, that green pigment that plants use to convert sunlight into energy.  So my question is WHAT ON EARTH has that got to do with my gnashers?

Now forgive me for pointing out the obvious but green teeth are not all the rage around here (or anywhere outside of a Shrek swamp) and so why on earth a green pigment would be top of the toothpaste formulators ‘to use’ list seems baffling to me.

But then it occurred to me that I might just be judging this solar energy maker a little harshly, surely the giant toothy brains of Colgate have some facts to back up this rather unorthodox choice of key active.  And they did.

Next I found this from 1953!!!

colgate advert 1953

Now I’m always the first to admit that I don’t know everything but how did this escape my attention?  Apparently chlorophyll has been helping de-bug oral cavities of the masses for over 60 years!    Indeed if natural health magazines and scientific research papers of the 1920’s-1960’s are to be believed this is exactly what your mouth needs.

But I wasn’t convinced.

Chlorophyll toothpaste does seem to me to be somewhat of a fashionable add-on as far as main stream dentistry goes.  Yes chlorophyll has been found to kill some bacteria but laboratory tests returned mixed results.  It didn’t reduce amounts of all types of oral bacteria and in some cases it was found to promote bacterial growth.  Further, you really can’t get over the colour issue. Chlorophyll is very green with only a small amount needed to turn a jug of water as green as pond dew.  From personal experience I must say that I felt my teeth were looking a little yellower than usual this week but that may have been due to copious amounts of tea-drinking brought on by endless hours of conference talking.  You be the judge.

So what next?  Is this toothpaste worth investing in?  Will it change your life?

In my humble opinion it isn’t worth trying unless you, like me like playing around with different things OR unless you really do want to audition as an extra in a Shrek movie.  That said, it is unlikely to do you any damage either.

Lovely!

Some interesting research links I came across while researching my ‘science’.

antimicrobial herbal toothpaste

Americas toothpaste history

Chlorophyll and Oral Bacteria

Oral rinse formulations containing chlorophyll – patent

3 Comments leave one →
  1. judgejj permalink
    April 15, 2014 11:59 pm

    I thought of it today, as the trees started turning green. I went to research why the predominate toothpaste in the 1950s was chlorophyll. Almost every brand had a chlorophyll toothpaste. It was widely advertised as being better than ordinary toothpaste and tooth powder. (Yes, powder.) But this was back when cigarettes were being advertise as good for your health. Best as I can recall, the chlorophyll toothpaste disappeared when the flouride anti-cavity toothpastes came out. I am surprised that it is still being sold anywhere.

  2. September 29, 2015 9:57 am

    I have periodontal disease and when they used to still make Chloressium toothpaste it used to stave off gum infections that I would get on occasion, after the Chlorophyll products disappeared then only antibiotics worked.

    • RealizeBeautyEd permalink*
      September 30, 2015 3:41 pm

      That’s interesting that it seemed to work for you. Maybe you could make your own chlorophyl paste if you think that was the key.

Leave a Reply

